Government of India Introduces Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

Government of India Introduces Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar: Recognizing Excellence in Science, Technology, and Innovation

A Remarkable Tribute to Pioneering Scientific Contributions

WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

The Government of India has unveiled a prestigious set of National Awards known as the “Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar” dedicated to honoring outstanding achievements in the realm of Science, Technology, and Innovation.

Aim and Significance of Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

The primary objective of the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP) is to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable and inspirational contributions made by scientists, technologists, and innovators, whether individually or as part of teams, across various domains of science, technology, and technology-led innovation.

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar is set to become one of the most esteemed recognitions in the field of science, technology, and innovation in India.

It is open to scientists, technologists, and innovators working in both government and private sector organizations, as well as individuals working independently outside organizational structures, provided they have made distinguished contributions through groundbreaking research, innovation, or discoveries in any field related to science, technology, or technology-led innovation.

Furthermore, individuals of Indian origin residing abroad, who have made exceptional contributions that have benefitted Indian communities or society, are also eligible for these prestigious awards.

Categories of Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

These prestigious awards will be conferred in the following four categories:

Vigyan Ratna (VR): Recognizing lifetime achievements and contributions in any field of science and technology.

Vigyan Shri (VS): Acknowledging distinguished contributions in any field of science and technology.

Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB): Encouraging young scientists under the age of 45 who have made exceptional contributions in any field of science and technology.

Vigyan Team (VT): Honoring teams comprising three or more scientists, researchers, or innovators who have collectively made an exceptional contribution to science and technology.

Eligibility and Domains for Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP)

Eligibility for these awards extends to scientists, technologists, and innovators working in any scientific field, whether in government or private organizations, who have made pioneering contributions or achieved groundbreaking research, technological innovation, or discoveries with significant societal impact.

Additionally, Indian-origin scientists, technologists, and innovators residing abroad, whose contributions have benefited Indian communities or society on a broader scale, are also eligible for these accolades.

Follow the CBSE News India Channel on WhatsApp here.

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar will encompass recognition in 13 distinct domains, including Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics & Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology & Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others.

These National Science Awards aim to ensure representation from each domain and field, with a particular focus on achieving gender parity.

Selection Process for Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP)

Nominations for the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar awards will be meticulously assessed by the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee (RVPC). This committee, presided over by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India, will comprise Secretaries of Science Departments, distinguished members of Science and Engineering Academies, as well as eminent scientists and technologists from diverse scientific backgrounds.

Important Dates of Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP)

Nominations for these prestigious awards will be open annually from January 14th to February 28th, coinciding with National Science Day. The National Science Award recipients will be announced on May 11th, celebrated as National Technology Day.

The grand Award Ceremony, spanning all award categories, will take place on August 23rd, observed as National Space Day. Each award will include a certificate and a medal.

A Milestone in Recognizing Scientific Excellence

These newly introduced National Awards represent a transformative step in recognizing the remarkable achievements of the scientific community at the highest level by the Government of India.

With an unwavering commitment to transparency and fairness throughout the selection process, these awards will bestow well-deserved recognition upon Scientific Innovators and Technologists, placing them on par with other prestigious National Awards.

Join our Premium Telegram and Whatsapp Channel for More News and Updates.

Read More Educational Content and News: Home

Thank you for choosing CBSE News India as your trusted platform for the latest educational news, valuable articles, teaching tips, CBSE sample papers, and other CBSE study materials.

Stay connected with us for continuous updates and enrich your educational journey.

Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment